My First Year of College

I wrote this about 23 days ago.

Here I sit on a plane on my way home from my first year of college. I can’t believe how fast these past few months have flown by. I feel like it was just a yesterday I was flying to New York for college.

These past few months I have lived about 2,437 miles away from home. But now I can call Fordham my second home. I can’t wait for my college adventure to continue in three months.

A year ago it was my last day of high school. My last class of high school was journalism and for my final I had to create a slideshow. I made a 15-minute slideshow of my life. I just watched it and I can’t believe how much I have changed and grown up. My slideshow was divided up into three parts. The first part was the day I was born to my first day of high school. I used Taylor Swift’s song Never Grow Up. The song really echoes the idea a life was so much simpler back in the day. While I love my childhood, it’s exciting to keep moving forward in life. While you can glance back, it’s important not to dwell on what happened in the past. The second part of my slideshow was from my freshman year of high school to my junior year. I used the song This Time from Glee to depict that as I look back on high school it reminds me of everyone I have met, but it also sends the message of how much I have grown. Side note: I have been re-watching Glee and it’s absolutely hilarious. My final segment was my senior year and I used Taylor Swift’s song Long Live.

Yesterday, the class of 2016 had their last day of high school. My social media timelines were bombarded with pictures of the last day of high school. People posted photos with the captions saying this is the last time going to school with their best friends. Other people posted inspirational captions about their time in high school. I remember when I was in their shoes and I didn’t know what college was going to be like. I knew that I was going to be moving across the country from my family and friends. I knew I could do it, but I knew I was going to miss my friends. But now I realize that while high school was memorable, it’s not everything in life. It is simply a stepping stone.

I can’t stress how important it is to find the best place for you to further your education. First, I’m so glad that I went out of state for school. Of course, I love Tempe, Arizona, but there is so much more out there. You learn so much from being on your own in a completely new place. I moved to New York City, where I didn’t know a single person. It taught me so much about myself. I always see people saying that sometime in their life they want to move to “insert city name here” and I think life is too short not to make that happen. If you have the opportunity to go out of state for school, I highly recommend it. You need to meet new people. You need to explore a different place. You need to learn responsibility. So do it: take the leap!

I want to take the time to reflect on my own college experience and I would like to do it in chronological order. Here we go:

August

I move to New York City at the end of August. My parents and I flew into JFK. We had three duffel bags and three carry-on suitcases with all of my belongings. The past week I have had to pack up all my stuff and let me just say it’s absolute hell to pack up everything. Because I live on the East Coast I had to put my stuff into storage. I decided to put my stuff into two humongous boxes. That was such a stressful process. Okay back on track. My mom and I also had to go to Bed Bath & Beyond to buy a few more things. I loved shopping at Bed Bath & Beyond. Shopping for one’s dorm is such a fun experience. For everyone who is going to college this upcoming August, I hope you have a great time picking out stuff for your dorm. I had the opportunity to move in early at Fordham because I participated in Urban Plunge. Urban Plunge is volunteer program for freshmen and it gives them an opportunity to learn about the neighborhood that we will be living in for the next four years. My service project was to rooftop gardening in Hell’s Kitchen and then I got to go to the Studio Museum in Harlem. On Aug. 30, Orientation began. Orientation was very long but at night, we could go on excursions. I got to go to the Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory and the Brooklyn Promenade.

September

The fist day of September was my academic orientation. It feels likes such a long time ago. I still remember sitting in the 12th Floor Lounge and learning about the Gabelli School of Business. September 2nd was the first day of classes. My first class was my business class, The Ground Floor. For my class that day I had to go Fordham’s Rose Hill campus to listen to the author who wrote the book I had to read over the summer. All of Gabelli took a bus to Rose Hill. The girl I sat next to on the bus ended up becoming one of my best friends. When we got to Rose Hill, we had a little down time and I was able to meet other people in Gabelli. I met my future roommate that day, we ate dinner together and then rode the bus back. I’m so thankful that I met her. I do want to point out that even though I met two of my best friends on the first day of school it did take me a long time to find a group of friends to hang out with. My first weekend of college I explored Central Park and I went to the MET. On Sept. 18, it was the President’s Ball at Rose Hill, which was essentially a homecoming dance. Then on Sept. 19 it was the Homecoming football game. Fordham beat Columbia! My advice for incoming college students is when you find someone who likes what you like do that thing with them. It’s a great time to bond over things that you both enjoy. For me, my roommate and our friends would watch Survivor: Cambodia every Wednesday in the 21st lounge and it was such a fun experience. If you don’t know I love Survivor. It is one of my favorite TV shows. It is very entertaining but I also love to analyze the strategy aspect of the game. I highly recommend that you watch Survivor, trust me, you won’t regret it.

October

My brother, my mom, and my uncle came to visit me during October. I was able to show Danny around New York City. We went to a Blackhawks game. And the Blackhawks won. Danny and I saw Wicked, which was absolutely amazing. October is also the month of midterms. Ew! But I was lucky because I only had two midterms. For Halloween, I dressed up as a hippie. My friends and I went to the parade in the village. We walked all the way back to Fordham and let me just say that my feet felt like they were going to fall off. Haha

November

In November, I was invited to join the Gabelli Dean’s Council. This is such a huge honor and I’m so glad that I was invited to take part in the Dean’s Council. I was just like to note that I love the Gabelli School of Business. I’m so glad that I’m going to school here. In November, I had to register for classes and I registered for American History, Calculus, Composition II, Theology, Statistics, and Integrated Project. Also, November was such a beautiful month. It was fall in the city. I loved walking through Central Park and seeing all the leaves changing color. I went to the Museum of Modern Art. I love that I can just go to museums after class on Tuesday.I also had the opportunity to go to Lower Manhattan and wander around Wall St. For my business class, I got to go the Museum of American Finance, which was actually fun. Also, I went back home for Thanksgiving. I was super sick over the five-day weekend, I had a horrible cold and I got pink eye. During Thanksgiving weekend, that Wednesday I had a dentist appointment and I got to hang out with some of my friends from high school. We saw Mockingjay Part 2 and I got to eat a Paradise Bakery. I love Paradise Bakery’s mac and cheese. Thanksgiving was pretty fun. I loved seeing my family. I just died from laughter and after remembering what happened at Thanksgiving this year. Let’s just say my cousins and I took revenge and we stole the desserts. I have the best family. I love my extended family. I die from laughter and they are the best people in the entire world. Also, I love playing Head Ups with them. My favorite moment was when my little cousin was guessing and the work was “Duck” and people starting quacking and said “Donald” and she said, “Donald Trump.” I flew home on Sunday. And on the last day of November, I went to Magnolia Bakery and got the banana pudding to celebrate my roommate’s birthday.

December

On December 5th, it was my mom’s birthday and I was really sad that I couldn’t celebrate her birthday with her but I mailed her a card. I love mailing people birthday cards. I think it’s such a nice gesture and I know people love opening mail. Christmas in New York City is a winter wonderland (minus the snow this year). I got to see the tree at Rockefeller Center and see the window displays down 5th Avenue. I presented my group’s business plan and we ended up doing really well, we got a 15/15 on the presentation. We were chosen to go to Ernst & Young, which was a great experience. I was upset because my app was blocked on the EY server. The rest of time at school was spent studying for finals, of course, I had a finale on the last day. I went home on December 22nd. Christmas was my 19th birthday. I’m so lucky that my birthday is on Christmas because I get to spend it with the best family ever. On December 30th, I hung out with my friends from high school. To cap off 2015, I hung out with my cousins. I have a funny story. My cousins picked me up after my cousin had basketball practice and while we were in the car my cousin’s wife said she had a funny story to tell me. At my cousin’s basketball practice, my cousin’s friend’s dad was telling my cousin’s parents how his son was doing well at NAU and had a 3.0 GPA. My seven-year-old (at the time) cousin responded by saying “Well Hayley gets straight “A’s” and she goes to Fordham in New York City.” How funny.

January

Before I went back to NYC, I actually visited my old high school. I went with one of my best friends and we visited journalism. It was so good to see all my editors and reporters again. I also visited the freshman AVID class and I told them about my experience in college. That Friday I went back to MHS and I watched my brother’s pep rally. He did an amazing job. Does anyone have a ShamWow? I flew back to NYC on January 18th. I took 6 classes this semester. Monday and Wednesday I had Faith and Critical Reason. Monday and Thursday I had Math for Business: Calculus. Wednesday I had Integrated Project. Tuesday and Friday I had Composition II, Understanding Historical Change: U.S., and Statistics I. On January 23, a huge snow storm hit the east coast. I believe NYC received about 2 feet of snow. My friends and I went to Lincoln Center and played in the snow. And later that night we went back outside and walked through the isolated streets. I really wish we had a snow day that Monday, but most of the snow had been cleared up. I would like to note that was the only “bad” snowstorm the entire year. I really lucked out with good weather. The following weekend, my friends and I went to Times Square and walked around. We visited the Disney Store and the M&M store. I’m a purple M&M by the way.


February

I watched the Super Bowl on my computer and I ate Ben & Jerry’s half baked ice cream. In the beginning of February, it was time to pick roommates for next year. I’m so excited to room with three of my best friends. In February, I began a new friendship with my future suitemates for next year and I love them both so much. On February 11, I received the Woolworth Award for receiving a 3.6 or above GPA in my first of college, which was super exciting. Over the 3-day week, it was super cold in NYC. At one time, it was 0 degrees Fahrenheit. As you can guess, I really didn’t go outside. On February 17, my uncle flew in from Chicago and we went to the Chicago Blackhawks vs. NY Rangers game. We ate at Ruth Chris’s Steakhouse. The game was at Madison Square Garden. The Blackhawks won 5-3. I actually got to see hat trick by Artemi Panarin, which was really cool because I wearing my Panarin jersey. We had our Gabelli Lunar New Year party and I won a $10 AMC gift card. I also met more people in Gabelli and found someone to watch Survivor with every Wednesday. I went to a networking fair. Also, a new season of Survivor premiered and it was absolutely amazing.

March

March to May was probably my favorite time in college because that’s when I really started to hang out with my new friends. It is true that sometimes it takes till the second semester to find your real friends. I love going on walks with my friends around the city either to the river or to Central Park. On March 17th, I went home for spring break. I actually flew home with my current suitemate because she’s from Gilbert. I think it’s absolutely crazy that I had a suitemate who also lived in Arizona. It was actually pretty crazy: I was visiting my friends at ASU over spring break and I ran into my suitemate. What a small world? While in Arizona, I went to Danny’s baseball games and they won twice. I was really sad that I couldn’t go to more games this season because they did so well this year. I’m really proud of Danny. I also voted in my first presidential primary. I love voting. I hung out with my friends from high school and we made sugar cookies. I went to a Spring Training game. To finish spring break I celebrated Easter with my family.

April

I definitely explored New York City a lot during April. One day my friend and I went to the High Line and Washington Square Park. #doyouknowEminem My favorite place in Central Park is the Bethesda Fountain and Terrace. #3wordseightletters I even saw a failed marriage proposal there. I celebrated two of my friends’ birthday and we went to the Broadway play American Psycho. That same weekend I had to sleep over in my friends’ dorm room and it was really fun. That Saturday, we went to Panera, walked by the Flatiron building, then walked up 5th avenue while making a stop at Barnes and Noble. The next day I went to a taping of the $100,000 pyramid.

May

My last few weeks at Fordham have been great. I’ve been studying for finals but also hanging with my friends. True friends are the people who watch a Canadian reality TV show with you. Haha. I also had to pack up all my things. It was such a struggle. Today the storage company people came up and picked up boxes. It was a very interesting experience, to say the least.


Overall my time at Fordham was amazing. I’ve met some of my best friends. It sucked having to say goodbye to my friends for three months. I can’t wait for the fall.

Leave a Reply

