Savannah Reitzel, model and actress lighting up the stage

FullSizeRender-1In March of 2015, I wrote this story on Savannah Reitzel for the fourth issue of the Guidon. It was featured on the Features spread that chronicled students with interesting endeavors. My journalism advisor submitted this story for the Arizona Interscholastic Press Association 2015 Fall State Convention and I won an award for Excellence in Feature Writing.

 

Lights, camera, action!

Savannah Reitzel, model and actress lighting up the stage 

By Hayley Gorman Editor-in Chief
Junior Savannah Reitzel has been modeling and acting for as long as she can remember. Since elementary school Reitzel participated in plays, but decided to pursue film in 6th grade. As for modeling, she began when she was in 5th grade.

IMG_4470 “I used to read lots of magazines when I was younger, and I would look at the all the pictures in the advertisements,” Reitzel said. “I was always so interested in the fact that the way you posed could make something so much more appealing to buy. So one day after practicing my poses in the mirror for an hour I said ‘heck yeah I could get paid for doing this.”

Reitzel has modeled for Meryl Norman, Lizard Thicket, Gap, American Eagle, Windsor, Macy’s, Dillard’s, Hollister, Toni and Guy, Rue 21, Aeropostale, Forever21, Lisa J Carter, and JB Martial Arts.

“My favorite modeling experience [was] when I got to do my first hair runway show for Toni and Guy,” Reitzel said. “They dyed my hair a weird color, gave me lots of cute clothes, did my makeup, and I walked in front of all the corporate officials of Toni and Guy who were deciding which looks to put in their next hair shoot! Not to mention, I made some really great friends throughout the process.”

Reitzel also has professional acting experience. She has been in a commercial for TrueCar, and one for a martial arts studio. She is currently shooting the movie called The Killing Party. Reitzel has also acted in plays including American Revolutionary War, Shakespeare Unshackled, Little Mermaid, Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory, If Today is the First Day of the Rest of My Life then I’m in real trouble, and Byline: Amanda Danger.

“Acting has always been a part of my life,” Reitzel said. “I would tell extravagant stories in my middle school to see how far I could go with people still believing me! [I actually convinced someone that I met Obama in a hotel lobby, and he invited me and my dad to dinner] meeting Obama in the lobby was actually true, but I made up some crazy details!”

Reitzel was inspired to act after watching a live taping of a television sitcom.

“I got to go to the set where they did the live taping of Mike and Molly, and the actors would talk to you between takes,” Reitzel said. “It was the coolest thing to me that they could go from being normal people, to a character they had nothing in common with and still make you believe it was real. It was then I decided, I’d live my life without all the embellishment and I’d leave it up to my characters to give me extravagant stories to tell.”  

Reitzel currently has couple of upcoming projects.

I have another acting scene with The Killing Party in a couple of weeks,” Reitzel said.

In this day and age, there is a lot of pressure on self body image.

“Negative self image, especially negative body image, is something that a lot of teens these days are dealing with,”  Reitzel said.   “I would be lying if I said I’ve never questioned if I would’ve gotten that job if I was thinner, or had longer legs and a smaller waist. But something that is really important to remember is that you are who you are, and if the company wants someone smaller, well then they can find someone else.”

Reitzel has learned through the modeling experience that happiness and body image can co-exist.

“It’s important to be happy and I’m not willing to compromise myself for something as materialistic as a modeling job,”  she said.  “I don’t want to be one of those girls who feels like they need to be thinner and skip dinner to be happy! Being healthy and loved is much more important than being a size 00.”  

One comment

Leave a Reply

