Senior Goodbye

Gorman18235-014On May 21, I will say goodbye to the halls of McClintock. I will be thrown into the real world. My high school career will be over. I will become a grown up. Everything I have worked for will be put to the test.

It’s scary to think that my four years are up. I remember my first day of high school. I didn’t know how much I was going to change in high school.  As I look back, I know that my freshman self would be proud of me.

Over the last four years, I have made a name for myself. I found who I was. I became confident in myself. I am proud of what I have become and I know I will keep growing.

High school thus far has been the best time of my life. Sure, there were moments that sucked, but you have to experience failure. Not everything will work out the way you want it to, but that’s okay.

Going to football games on Friday night, dressing up for spirit weeks, going to dances, drama productions, concerts, and going to all of my brother’s baseball games, that made my high school career.

IMG_9625My senior was the best year ever. High school is what you make it. If you want something, go for it. I ran to be a Student Body officer because I have loved Student Council since the last week of August my freshman year. Also, my goal was to be nominated for a dance and this year my peers nominated me for Homecoming. I’m so appreciative. Who would have thought Hayley Gorman would shmoney dance in front of the entire school?

PPA has been my second family. I met some of the most intelligent people ever. All of them are going to change the world, trust me. They taught me so much, and after four years of having classes with them, I’m going to miss them so much. Thank you for everything and I can’t wait to see where your future takes you all!

My sophomore year I took Academy English with Mrs. Crane. Of course, I was flattered when she told me I would be great at journalism, but I didn’t know what to expect. Journalism is my favorite class. Sure I pulled out my hair, rolled my eyes, cried my eyes out, but in the end, I loved it. I love being able to express my ideas and broadcast them to the world. I’ve met the most entertaining people and we are family.

I’ve learned how to be a leader. I know what it’s like to run a class. Let me just say it isn’t easy. I know what it’s like to be a teacher. Sometimes you don’t feel like your work is appreciated. However, the best feeling is when I hold our paper, or I get a compliment, or I see someone using one of our photos.IMG_0268

Kassandra, I can’t wait to watch you shine as Editor-in-Chief. You are so creative and so passionate about journalism. I will be checking mhscharger.com everyday, and reading all of the stories. I just want to say, I love you so much. You are my little sister, and I’m so proud of you everyday. You were my first friend in journalism and I’m so thankful you are in my life.

Even though you weren’t in third hour with us, Stephanie, you are still my best friend in this class. You make sure I don’t go insane, we can look at each other and know exactly what the other person is thinking, I love you so much.

Mrs. Crane, thank you times a billion. Thank you for telling me to join journalism and helping me with all of my applications. You were always there for me. You never stopped believing in me and for that I say thank you.

IMG_2184The person who I am most proud of in this world is my brother. Danny, it’s time for your senior year. Do everything. Don’t look back. I’m so excited for you being a Student Body President. I wish I could watch you run pep rallies and meetings, but I know you will do a fantastic job. You are going to be the golf captain for the third year in a row. You are going have an amazing senior year playing varsity baseball for the third time. Thank you for being there for me. Thank you for always making me smile and laugh. Thank you for being my best friend. I love you!

I want to thank my friends because without them, I would have died from stress. I love them will all of my heart!

IMG_2350Jordan, my bestie, we only had one class together in high school, yet we’re the best of friends. You are my sister and I love our crazy adventures. Can you say San Diego? “Hello my name is Eduardo, and I will be your tour guide today.” “Wave your flag eh!!!” I love the fact we obsess over the same television shows. My life would suck without you!

Julia, I just can’t, you and I have such an amazing friendship, our texting conversations, and our memories, I love you.

Theresa, we’ve known each other since first grade and now we are graduating, where does time go? Thank you for always being by my side, we always think the same, and I’m so glad that you are in my life. I can’t wait to see what you do in college.

Mira, I’m so glad that I met you in high school. This year we have become the best of friends. We’ve had some crazy memories, but without you in my life, I don’t know where I would be. Go out and change the world.

Francesca, I’m glad that we are friends. Even though you did beat me in a Student Council election, we became friends sitting next to each other in APUSH, and we got to end senior year being Student Body officers. I only see amazing things in your future, so don’t forget about me, when you change the world.

This year I spent my 7th hour being a TA for Ms. Winkle’s freshmen AVID class. These kids have taught me so much and I’m going to miss them so much next year.

To think I’m going to be done with high school is crazy. To think my life is starting soon, is unimaginable. I’m going to miss this place. But this is where the chapter ends. I have to keep reading. I can’t thank everyone, but just know you all have a special place in my heart.

Next year, my journey is taking me to Fordham University at Lincoln Center. I can’t believe I making my dreams come true. I can’t wait to live in New York City. I just want to say thank you to my parents for making my dreams come true.

I’m so glad that I got to participate in Student Council. That club is the best organization. I loved every moment of it. I loved being Publicity Director. Being a Student Body officer was the best experience and I’m glad I got to share it with Amie, Hadley, Natasha, Francesca, Avery, and Otis. Thank you, Mrs. Tomasi, words can’t express how much I enjoyed having you as an advisor and a teacher.

The end is near. It’s bittersweet feeling. Thank you, McClintock and PPA. Thank you for the memories.

“I’m not afraid of moving on and letting go. It’s just so hard to say goodbye to what I know.”

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

