Perception

Perception is defined as

a way of regarding, understanding, or interpreting something; a mental impression.

Perception is the way we view people, but the thing is everyone has their own thoughts on how they view one and other. That’s what is so interesting about people- is how people can see one person at face value or you can see what is deep on the inside.

“We must not allow other people’s limited perceptions to define us,” Virginia Satir

I believe our society gets held up on how people view us. When in fact, people don’t actual know the real you. Instead they judge you after a moment and stick with that opinion.

We have the tendency to waste time worrying what other people think about us and we base our decisions off what we think people will think of us.

I believe that if you look in the mirror and you like what you see, then you shouldn’t care about what other people think of you. No one really knows the true “you”, only you do.

Everyone that has ever spent time with you, has a different way of seeing you. Some people may see you as outgoing or shy. Funny or quiet. Beautiful or ugly. I think only the good opinions count.

People care way to much about how people will see them. In high school, people are trying to figure who they are and how they fit into society.

“Don’t be too fat, or too thin, or too dark, or too light; don’t be too sexual, or too chaste, or too smart, or too dumb. Be yourself. But make sure you fit in.”- One Tree Hill

In life, you are suppose to be yourself. Time and time again people say that the best thing you can be in life is to be yourself. Yet, it can be difficult when people judge others every single second.

In the past I’ve got a lot of unnecessary comments from others. I hate when people judge me. I know more times than not people don’t realize what they are saying, but it’s important to think before you speak.

I hate how people judge because I’m “too smart”, saying all I do is study and do homework. They believe that I can’t have a life. I actually had someone say, “You have a life?” to my face. Honestly, what does that even mean? Does that mean I go out and have fun? I don’t know. Let’s be honest, I do go home and study to get good grades, but I wish I had more time to spend time with my friends.

Words can hurt. An important factor to realize is there is so much more to a person. Get to know others before you say harsh things.

In the past year I have learned so much about myself. I’ve learned the most important thing is to be confident in your abilities and in yourself. You are special and sometimes people don’t see that, but find the people who do.

I think it’s interesting that different people who have known for a long or short time have a distinct and sometimes vastly different opinions of you.

Sometimes the people who you see five times a week forget how amazing you are. People may not show how much they appreciate you. I know this from personally experience. Make sure to surround yourself with people who do admire you.

This school year I have met so many new people. It’s funny because these new people seem to look up to me or they appreciate who I am. When some of my classmates who I have known for almost four years haven’t even bothered to get to know me.

Never forget that you are special. People do love you. Some people are jerks and say rude things, but don’t let those harsh words ruin your self-esteem. You matter.

Leave a Reply

