2014 in Review

2014 is almost over. Can you believe it? I feel like this year flew by. Honestly, I think 2014 was a great year for me.

Recap of 2014:

In January, over MLK weekend, my mom, my brother, and I went to Chicago. It was so much fun. We went to two Blackhawks games, ate at Superdawg, and ate at Tuffanos. We played Trival Pursuit, Mille Bornes, and Pit. Definitely an A+ vacation.

Also, in January, I wrote my first, amazing blog post. Here’s the blog post. I got so many compliments and it started my interest in writing for A&E.

In February, I had my first BIG interview. I interviewed Alex Pettyfer for his new movie at the time, Endless Love. I got a 10 minute interview and I got to see the movie for free. Also, I got a t-shirt, a beanie, and a hair tie.

Coronation was in February. I love high school dances. However, none of my friends wanted to go, expect for Julia. So we decided to go and it was so much fun. I think my favorite part was running around during Young Beautiful, which was a slow dance. I’ll never forget it.

My brother, Danny, made Varsity baseball in February. I went to all of his games, home and away. He pitched and got the first win for the team. I love baseball season.

Over Spring Break, my mom and I went to New York City. I love New York. We stayed in Time Square. We went and saw Wicked, The Lion King, and Motown:the Musical. I loved going to Wall Street and Central Park.

In April, it was my uncle’s 70th birthday. He had a huge party and it was so much fun hanging out with my family.

During March and April, I decided to run for Student Council Publicity Director. I was the first one to get a petition. I got my 150 signatures. I passed out buttons. I made posters. I won, which was super exciting. #shewassoawkwardinherspeech #ppakidsriggedtheelections

Prom. First off, don’t go to Prom if you don’t have a date, unless all of your friends don’t have dates, because it gets very awkward. Very awkward. Prom 2014 was a really bad experience and I ended up in tears.

The beginning of June, I went to the University of Arizona for Girls State. That week was great and I took risks. I ran for Mayor and won! And I met so many fantastic girls. Who runs the world? Girls!

Shortly after Girls State, the next day even, I started a two week programs, the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism High School Summer Journalism Institute or SJI for short. I love journalism and I met the best people in the entire world. I won’t forget our late night adventures. 😉 Also, the Diamondbacks game where I later learned that I was on TV stuffing my face with a cheeseburger. Yay!

Also, in June, I got 9 teeth pulled. Can you say? Ew! Very Ew! And you can’t eat anything. I couldn’t eat for food like a week. Life sucked.

In July, I went on my annual San Diego trip with my best friend and her family. Paddleboarding, Belmont Park, and Spite and Malice. Life was perfect.

I spent 10 days in Chicago during July. I participated in Economics for Leaders at the University of Chicago. It was such a fun adventure and made so many friends from across the country.

I started my senior year in August. I was crowned as Editor-in-Chief, which was the most amazing thing ever. The Guidon, our school’s newspaper, has improved so much and received so many compliments.

October was Homecoming. I still can’t believe that I was nominated, but it was the best memory of my high school career. I loved the pep rally, the football game, and the dance. Memory of a lifetime.

Also, in October, my journalism staff went to the fall convention. It was so much fun reuniting with some of my SJI babes. I loved hanging with my staff. I’m really going to miss them next year.

I love ASU football season. There is no where else on Saturday night where I would rather be. I love the energy and hanging out with my family.

Thanksgiving was great. I loved Thanksgiving Sampling Distribution in AP Stats and Turkey Bowling. I’m really going to miss AP Stats.

This year I was accepted to ASU and DePaul and I received the Presidential Scholarship from both schools. Super exciting.

Christmas. 18th Birthday. Wonderful time of the year.

2014 is over, but I learned so much. I made new friends. I learned so much about myself. I can’t wait to see where the world takes me in 2015.

One comment

Leave a Reply

