1989 Album Review

It’s a new soundtrack
I could dance to this beat

On Mon. Oct. 26, Taylor Swift dropped her new album 1989. Swift decided to try out a different style and decided to make a Pop album, her last four albums have been Country. I’ve been a fan of Swift since  I heard the song “You Belong with Me”, and I have witness Swift grow as an artist. I didn’t have an doubts that this was album was going to be any less fantastic.

On Nov. 5, it was announced that 1989 was the first album of the year to go platinum, meaning selling more than one million copies.

Personally, I think 1989 is beautiful musical masterpiece. I have fallen in love with most tracks on this album. I can’t wait to go to the tour for 1989.

Welcome to New York is the first song on this album. I think this is the best song to kickoff the album. It shows the pop vibe of the album, but also shows Taylor Swift transition into her new home of New York.

On Mon. Nov. 10, Taylor Swift released a music video for Blank Space. Blank Space was the first song I called one of my favorite songs on this CD.

Swift is setting herself a part in the music industry. Swift is a role model. The media has portrayed Swift as singer who only sings about her ex-boyfriends. However, in an interview, Swift said, “Oh, y’know, like she just writes songs about her ex-boyfriends.’  And I think, frankly, that’s a very sexist angle to take.” “No one says that about Ed Sheeran. No one says it about Bruno Mars,” Taylor points out. “They’re all writing songs about their exes, their current girlfriend, their love life, and no one raises a red flag there.”

My favorite song on this album is Wildest Dreams. I think this song stands out because it different then any song on the album. I love the lyrics, too. The message is that even once your relationship is over, you want the person to remember you in a positive light.

Say you’ll remember me
Standing in a nice dress, staring at the sunset, babe
Red lips and rosy cheeks
Say you’ll see me again even if it’s just in your wildest dreams
Wildest dreams

Personally, I think everyone can relate to the song, Bad Blood. My favorite line in the song is “Did you think we’d be fine? Still got scars on my back from your knife.” I think I relate to that line because you hear the term backstabbers time in and time out, but still the people who have left the scars on your back are still in your life. People don’t learn from mistakes and keep letting the people who harm them back into their lives.

When the CD came out, I went to Target and I bought the last Deluxe album. I love the three bonus tracks that are included. Wonderland I think is so catchy and I love all the references to Alice in Wonderland. You Are In Love to me is the perfect slow dance song, I think it’s the song that anyone can relate to when they are in love. “One night he wakes, strange look on his face. Pauses, then says, you’re my best friend. And you knew what it was, he is in love,” is my favorite line from You Are In Love. Finally, I think New Romantics is very catchy, and I love dancing to this song.

Swift is setting herself a part from the music industry. She is making beautiful music and I personally can’t wait to see what she does in the upcoming years. Once a Swift fan, always a Swift fan.

Leave a Reply

