Homecoming 2014

photoI honestly can’t believe that my last Homecoming is over. Homecoming is always one of my favorite times of the year because I love the 60 minute pep rally, the football game, and the dance. This year was a bit different, because I was actually nominated for Homecoming.

Since my freshman year, I always wanted to be nominated for dance. However, as every dance rolled around, I was never nominated time after time again. During the beginning of my senior year, I knew this was going to be the last time I could ever be nominated, so I decided to make it my goal that I was going to be nominated for Homecoming.

In the third week of September, it was time for the seniors to write who they wanted to nominate. I had mentioned it to my close friends that I wanted to be nominated and when people were nominating in my English class and asked who wanted to be nominated, I raised my hand. In that moment, it was nice knowing that people had nominated me and I knew who I could count on.

The next week, I had a student council meeting and they said we needed to count the Homecoming ballots. So I stayed behind during 7th hour to count the ballots. However, at the end, I noticed something was off, I only had 2 nominations next to my name, and I realized that couldn’t be right. So I stood up for myself and I brought it to the attention to the others who were counting. I got mixed responses, but in my mind, every ballot deserved to be counted. Even if I didn’t get nominated, my ballot deserved to be counted. It turned out my class’ ballots went missing and the next day, I was so upset that I could have been nominated, but because of a mistake the ballots were gone. As I was walking to talk to the advisor, asking if we could revote, I got a text from my friend, saying I would be happy. The ballots were found!

IMG_6022That Friday afternoon, we counted the ballots and guess what? Hayley Gorman was nominated. I was so happy. I remember walking down the hallway with the biggest smile on my face. I had done it. Here’s the thing: There’s a lot of people who have been nominate more than once even twice even three times, and I hated that because I thought everyone deserves a chance to be nominated. Also, I’m in the gifted academy at my school, and no girl from PPA has been nominated since freshman year, and I didn’t think it was fair. So when I heard I was nominated, I was so proud of myself, because I made a difference.

I love pretending that I was a princess. I loved walking around with a sash across my body. It made me feel so much more confident in myself and it gave me an excuse to dress up.

IMG_8831The pep rally was on Oct. 17. I have dreamed about walking at the pep rally since I was freshman. I knew exactly what dress I was going to wear. I picked out my hairstyle, shout out to my #SJI14 roommate, Monica. At the pep rally, I got to walk with adorable preschoolers and hear the answers to my questionnaire read out aloud.

If you knew the world was going to end in 2015 what would you do differently? Stop applying to colleges.

What is your greatest accomplishment? Being the Editor-in-Chief of the Guidon.

In the middle of the gym, I actually danced in front of the entire school. How embarrassing right? But honestly, I never would IMG_6050thought I would ever do that, so who cares if I embarrassed myself. I can laugh at myself. I love all the photos that people took of me when I was walking.

IMG_9557That night was the Homecoming football game. I loved releasing a balloon and throwing streamers at kick off. I loved making one of my high school dreams come true by walking on the football field. I walked by myself and I loved hearing the cheers of everyone.

I didn’t win. But who cares? Because I was nominated. I was one of six girls who were nominated. There would be so many girls who would love to be nominated and I’m so glad that I was given this opportunity. I can’t thank everyone enough for IMG_7948nominating me and voting for me. Besides the girl who won, is the biggest sweetheart ever. Plus, she even voted for me. Losing didn’t even phase me, who cares, because I did something I didn’t think I could do.

Saturday was the dance, and let me just tell you that it was the best thing ever. I love getting ready, putting on the dress, and just feeling beautiful. I love taking pictures with my friends. I love going to dinner. I love dancing all night long.

Homecoming 2014 was the best experience ever.

Leave a Reply

