When life throws you a curve ball

“When life throws curve balls at you, do not try to dodge them. They are meant to hit you, to mould you and to shape you to become the person you are meant to be. Enjoy the impact, smile and move on.”

August 19. Let me get to the point-today sucked. Everything that could go wrong, went wrong. So many thoughts have crossed my mind today and it’s been a wild ride.

This morning started off different, well I usually wake up at 6 and today I woke up at 6:07. I know big change, but still, I forgot to set my alarm. Also, today was a rainy day in Tempe, Arizona, which never happens. So I went through my normal day, until a big bang. I experienced my first car crash, well I was in the car, I wasn’t actually driving. Because I’m 17 and half and I still don’t know how to drive. Let me just say this was horrible experience.

However, I think today taught me about kindness. I was shown so much compassion from my friend and my teachers. I love hearing the words “Are you okay?” Those words just mean so much to me. This was unrelated to everything, but someone told me I was great “big sister” and that meant the world to me.

After lunch, I was definitely feeling better, but guess what? My happiness was cut short. One of my friends had to tell me that all these people were talking crap about my brother. I don’t get it, honestly. I mean the words that were spoken make me want to gag. People are so disrespectful. My biggest advice I can give to people, is be careful when you talk about someone, because someone could be listening.

Also, when I came home I heard horrible news, and all I can say is life sucks. But when you get thrown a curve ball, it just gives you a whole new perspective. The last few days I’ve been “sad” but no today I realized was sadness. I am so lucky to be alive. Life can be unexpected.

“The people who are still with you at the end of the day are the worth keeping.”

Leave a Reply

