Confidence is key

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.” –Eleanor Roosevelt

Confidence. I have lived many years in my life when I wasn’t confident at all.

a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities.

But finally in my life, I’m so confident in myself. I’m so proud of myself and everything I do. I know I’m special and I can do anything.

Story time: My friend asked all of my friends and I how happy we were with ourselves on a scale of 1 to 10. And I thought to myself and well…

I like to believe I’m 10, well maybe not a 10, so I guess a 9 or a 9.5. But truly I’m so confident and happy with myself. Sure there are days where I can only see the bad things about myself, but right now, I can only see good things.

Don’t get me wrong, it did take time. I had some hard times. I mean I’ve had a harder time than others when it comes to being proud of myself and feeling good about myself.

Let’s be honest, people only see me as “shy”, “quiet”, and “smart”. If you were to ask any person, I’m pretty positive they would use one of those adjectives. I mean yes those are somewhat correct, but I like to believe I’m so much more than that. I’m not that same person, I’ve grown. Other words define me.

You know, I had times when I didn’t have friends. I was alone. I sat by myself. I had no one to hang out with at lunch or recess. It sucked and I hated it. To be honest, people still see me as this friendless loser.

You know honestly, people judge me. They call me things to my face and behind a stupid keyboard. I hate it, honestly. I mean someone told me to my face that I was “socially challenged.” Like words do hurt me. I don’t care if you misspoke because that’s how you view me. But guess what?

you don’t know anything about me

You haven’t taken the time to get to know me. You just throw your clouded judgement into my face. Guess what? It freaking hurts. I hate it.

People sit behind their keyboards and type away. I mean that’s what I’m doing right now. But guess what, that doesn’t give you the right to talk crap about someone. Because that’s rude. Just because I may or may not be on some social media, I still see it.

The things that you say
You may think I never hear about them
But word travels fast

So yes, I have seen your rude comments and there is no right for them.

IMG_4743

But jokes on you, because in that split second I read them, sure I was upset and thought down on myself. This is how someone views me, but guess what? You are wrong.

tweet_new copyYou know just because you say something anonymous on ask.fm or Twitter doesn’t mean I won’t see it. Some people believe they can say whatever they want to on social media, but you can’t. People need to learn about that.

The happiest night so far of my high school career is the night I won Student Body Publicity Director. I was so elated. I did something that I didn’t think I could do. I proved to everybody that I can do anything. Sure I had help, but in the end people believed in me. But guess what? Everything good things comes with something bad.

“she was so awkward in her speech whut”

“kinda butt hurt that I didn’t win the election lol” “HOW???” “don’t ask me haha I have no clue”

“Elections were rigged by PPA kids”

Those girls who said those things, had no idea that I would ever see those tweets. But guess what? I did.

So yes, I can let those words hurt me. I can be upset. I could listen to those girls. But I don’t.

I think about how amazing I am. I think that I have a stellar GPA, I’m in PPA, I’m Student Body Publicity Director, I’m an editor for our school’s newspaper, I’m in countless number of clubs. I know I’m going places. Nothing is going to stop me.

I know people love me. I know people believe in me. I know people think I’m an amazing friend, sister, and daughter. I know that I have the power to inspire people.

My advice don’t listen to the haters. Listen to those positive comments. Don’t let people bring you down. Honestly, I think you are special.

Take a moment and tell yourself all the wonderful qualities about yourself, because those things matter.

“Believe in yourself! Have faith in your abilities! Without a humble but reasonable confidence in your own powers you cannot be successful or happy” -Norman Vincent Peale

 

2 comments

  1. hayley! i am so proud to call you my friend and i am so proud of you. i love that you show the world that confidence isn’t just being outgoing and loud. sometimes, confidence speaks in a library voice. the people who appear the most confident sometimes are actually the ones with the least confidence in themselves, and your confidence in your abilities is inspiring to me and i’m sure many others. call me when you become the first female president of the universe ❤

  2. Reblogged this on hayley's thoughts and commented:

    This is so relevant right now. Past Hayley was super duper smart. I think this post is raw emotion, but really telling. It is nice to be reminded that you are special and not to let other people’s words go to your head. Believe in yourself.

Leave a Reply

