Make the right first impression

First impressions are the most important thing when it comes to meeting new people. Whether when one shakes someone hand, sees them across the room, or when browsing someone’s social media account. You have to make sure that you have a good a first impression. Chances are people aren’t going to forget.

I never thought  so much about first impressions until lately. This summer I was going to have to put myself out there (no, not like the bachelor or the bachelorette). I was going to have a roommate and I was going to meet people from all over.

The biggest questions that pop into one’s head are “Will people like me?” or “Am I going to make friends?”

On Sun. June 1, I started AZ Girls State. This was going to be the first time in a while when I wasn’t going to be home for a week. This was going to be my first time living in a dorm. I was pretty nervous, to say the least.

But guess what? I made friends. At Girls State, 300 girls run their own government, which means you have to run for office, which just let me say is pretty nerve-wracking. I’ve run for office at my school, but I knew people. At Girls State, I was pretty much by myself.

But guess what I did? I took a risk. And I ran for office. On Mon. Jun 2, after knowing these girls for less than 24 hours, they voted for me. How crazy is that? They barely knew me. But you know what that means, I made a good first impression on me.

A week later I was at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism High School Summer Journalism Institute, and I had to meet friends, again. In my opinion, it’s so hard to make friends. It took me about 2 days, but then I made some of the most amazing friends. I left with 25 friends.

I have to believe, that people thought I seemed like a nice person. When you start building a friendship, it teaches that people actually like you and want to know you. It’s probably the best feeling in the world.

My advice: make sure you have a smile on your face. But don’t try to be anyone you aren’t. Don’t try to hard. Trust me you are special just they way you are.

Leave a Reply

