…and just like that #SJI14 is over

On Sun. June 8, I began my adventure at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism High School Summer Journalism Institute. That day I was so scared, I had no idea what to expect. My biggest fear was that I would have the least amount of experience. 4 o’clock was check in at Taylor Place.

My mom and I went up to my room and I met my amazing roommate Monica. After setting up my room, I went downstairs and waited till orientation. Then we headed over the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism.

Funny story: At the orientation, we had to go get our binders that had our itinerary. Well when I walked into the theater this girl goes, “Hey you were at Girls State.” I nodded my head and said “yes.” That girl was Anarosa. I felt so bad because she remembered everything about of me and I couldn’t even tell remember what city she was in. But was really funny was that our room was right next to each other and I never noticed. Whoops!

Sunday night went by really fast, I think with the tour, eating pizza, and playing games it made this program seem like it would be really fun.

A typical day at SJI would be walking up around 6:30-6:50 and getting ready. Then I would head down to breakfast at like 7:30. At 8:30, it was our News Meetings. Then at 9 we would have speakers.

I actually loved listening to speakers. Everyone has their own story. Everyone has a different role in the journalism career. But there is just so much I learned listening from everyone.

I think one of the best things about SJI was the people we had the opportunity to interview. I started my “journalism career” in Aug. 2013 and for the most part I just interview people at my school, but I did get to interview the actor Alex Pettyfer. At SJI, our first big interview or news conference I should say was Al McCoy. He is known as “the voice of the Suns”, referring to the PHX Suns.

Another big interview we got to do was interview Ann Meyers, when we went to tour U.S. Airways and sit in on an PHX Mercury practice. We also got interview Brittney Griner, who plays for the PHX Mercury.

There’s just something about interviewing someone who is “famous”. It gives you actual real world experience and it makes journalism even more exciting.

I also loved going on tours. We got to tour Channel 12, Channel 15, and Channel 3. It so interesting to see the set, but also to meet the people and all the behind the scenes people.

But SJI wouldn’t have been that great if  I hadn’t made memories or friends.
On the second night, we went to the Sun Devils Fitness Center and we decided to play dodgeball. Let it be known, I haven’t played dodgeball in like 2 years. But IMG_7034I guess it’s thing for me to ALWAYS be the last one on my team. So that means I have to face a whole team by myself. I wouldn’t recommend it. But out of three games I always the last one on my team. I don’t know if that means I’m good or I’m the weakness and they were saving me to be last one. Haha.
I think my favorite night was going to the Diamondbacks game. We got to do a media tour, which is so cool to see all the behind the scenes action. At the game, SJI got on the big screen 3 times. And we were the “Lucky row”. Also, Ana tweeted a picture of me and her, and we got on the big screen. I decided to treat myself to Fatburger. It was amazing, by the way. But guess who got on TV stuffing herself with food? That would be me. #embarrassing
One of my biggest fears was not meeting friends at SJI. On the first Tuesday, I had no one to eat dinner or lunch with. I felt so alone. I even broke down crying. I couldn’t believe that I had to wait a whole week before I could go home. I even felt like I made a mistake signing up for the program. But then a glimmer of hope came…
Nicole and I became partners for Digital Media project. Then from there we are friends. I always had someone to eat lunch with. We had so many amazing conversations. We made fun of each other. We laughed so hard. We always reminded each other to blog. I love her. I miss Nicole so much. IMG_6965
With Nicole, came Gabby. This girl could always make me smile. She is so funny. Always making fun of Nicole. She’s my first friend who loves Grey’s Anatomy. We even got to bond over Chicago. I’m so thankful that she’s in my life. Fun fact: Her birthday is my half birthday. Love you Gabby!
Nicole and Gabby introduced me to Allyson. This girl is so sweet and so fashionable. I loved the fact that I got to spend every breakfast, lunch, and dinner with her. Our conversations were amazing. I’m so glad that we became friends. I’m honestly going to miss her so much. Love you Allyson!
As the days kept going, I met more and more friends. I definitely loved all of my Digital Media squad.
Barbara is the sweetest person. I’m going to miss seeing her face everyday. I’m so glad that we were in the same group to make our music video.IMG_6485
Olivia is so funny and I’m in LOVE with her photography. Do you gotta bae or nah? Yulissa was such a great gal and I’m so glad that I met her. Alexa was a great co-editor-in-chief and she’s going to go places.
I’m going to miss the squad.
Thomas was such an amazing co-editor-in-chief and did so much for Devil’s Dish.
LT is such a great guy and I’m so glad that we were in the same News Team and got to do radio night together.
Blake was a sweetheart and I’m sad we only started talking the last night, but we got to talk about our mutual love for AP classes. haha.
Victor was such a nice guy and so talented.
Those boys could always make me smile. #yassssssssssss
I’m also going to miss the Broadcast crew.
IMG_6489First my roommate, Monica, she is the nicest, sweetest, and craziest person ever. She is so friendly. I’m going to miss waking up and going to bed without her. I’m going snacking on sugary treats. I’m going to miss our conversations. I’m going to miss bonding with her. I love you, Monica.
IMG_6979Anarosa, this girl, can always make me smile. Our relationship was so funny. From making funny of each other to her pointing out all the guys she thought were cute. I loved teaching her baseball. Funny story, she didn’t even know the game had started. This girl, haha. I always keep in touch with her. Love you, Ana!
I just want to take a moment just to say how talented Savannah is. Holy crap! She is so creative. Our music video was out of this world. It took her seconds to think of everything. She’s going to make a name for herself.
Paige is so incredible. She always make it point to say hi to me. I’m going to miss seeing her fashionable self. She is super sweet and so beautiful. I can’t wait to see what she does in life.
Alvaro gosh this kid. Well he’s great dancer and I loved him the Let it Go music video. I always remember him struggling to charge his phone with his stupid charger.
Sayge is so dedicated and motivated. She always asking questions and she always looked so cute. She’s going to make a name for herself.
Denisha is hilarious and did an amazing job anchoring for Newscast 1. I’m going to miss seeing her crazy self.
Tim is such a great guy. He cared about everyone and always tried to so hard. He didn’t let anything stop him. Screen shot 2014-06-21 at 1.51.17 PM
Hannah is such a great girl. I’m so glad that we were in the same group to do our music video. And that we got to sit together
for some meals.
Chris is so talented and such a nice guy. He did such a great job in Newscast 1 as a reporter.
IMG_7049Courtney is such a sweetheart. She was so nice and always had a beautiful smile on her face. She did a fantastic job in Newscast 1.
Daniel is a talented guy. You wouldn’t even know that he’s going to be a junior, while most us are going to be seniors. He did great job as anchor for Newscast 2.
Gabrielle and I spent everyday sitting next to each in 252. She always had a smile on her face. She was a great weathercaster.

Delaney
is so friendly and sweet. I loved that I got the opportunity to meet her beautiful self.
I’m going to miss all 25 of these wonderful people. They all inspired in me in one way or another. I’m so glad that I have social media, so we are always connected.
SJI was the best experience. I’m going to miss all of our moments. But I guess as they say, all good things must come to an end. I love you all. Thank you for everything. #sji14 #yassssssss

4 comments

  1. Hayley, this post is absolutely beautiful! I’m so happy that most of your time at SJI was filled with fun! Your writing is so amazing! I miss you so much, we all need to have a big reunion before school starts! LOVE YOU!

  2. This post is amazing!! I barely got back to checking what everyone has posted and I can tell you put alot of thought into this, I wish I had your writing skills and ease when it comes to blogging 😀

Leave a Reply

