Think before you Tweet

LiKq6G6iaSocial media has taken the Internet by storm. We have bounced from Facebook to Instagram to Twitter. I’m part of generation that social media is part of their teenage experience. I think that one of the biggest problems with social media is that older generations don’t understand the social media aspect of being a teenager. However, I believe the problem of social medias is the fact that people don’t think before they post something.

Don’t get me wrong social media is great in theory. The fact that people from across the world are all connected through the Internet. That’s crazy! It’s amazing to see how far technology has take us in the world. I can’t imagine not living with technology. I love to think I’m so fortunate to live in the day and age. However, I still think life would have been easier without technology in some certain situations. Though I am glad I have technology for school and communicating with my friends, it makes life a lot easier.

I think one of the biggest disadvantages that has come from the Internet and social medias is cyberbullying. According to The CyberbullyingResearch Center, about half of young people have experienced some form of cyber bullying, and 10 to 20 percent experience it regularly. If that statistic isn’t alarming, then I don’t know what is. I do believe that some teens don’t believe that cyberbullying is that bad or that don’t understand what cyberbullying actually is. Cyberbullying is the expression of negative feelings. I do believe people think that people blow cyberbullying out of the portion, but the fact of the matter it does exist. 

Now a days I think Twitter is the key center of cyberbullying . People don’t think before they tweet.  People’s words hurt. I think in the teenage world, Twitter is a huge problem. People seem to forget that some of their Twitter’s are public, that anyone can read it. Or they forget people can show others what they tweet. People are ruthless and have no problem subtweeting others. Subtweeting is indirectly tweeting something about someone without mentioning their name. Other users though can definitely put two and two together and realize who the user was trying to subtweet. 

People don’t realize that are bullying. They don’t think that specific person will see it so they don’t even consider it bullying. However, the fact is, you never know. From personal experience, I have people tweet things about myself. I don’t have a Twitter so people had to tell me that people had tweeted about me. I have to believe that didn’t think I would see their tweets, but I did. It’s hurtful. I hate seeing that people would write rude things about me even though they don’t even know me.

I threw myself into the student spotlight after I decided to run for Student Council. In my opinion, it takes a lot of nerves to run a public campaign in front of the entire school. Trust me, I didn’t want to give a speech that the entire school was going to see, but I love Student Council so much and I wanted to win, so you have to suck it up. After campaigning so hard, I won. I was probably the happiest person I have been in a while. However, some of happiness was suck out of me when I heard about tweets that people posted.

“she was so awkward in her speech whut”

“kinda butt hurt that I didn’t win the election lol” “HOW???” “don’t ask me haha I have no clue”

“Elections were rigged by PPA kids”

In my opinion, I’m pretty sure the three girls who tweeted these didn’t believe I would see these tweets. They think they can speak their mind and all is good. Though, it hurts. I hate knowing that so many people saw these tweets and that others favorited it. I was lucky though. One of my oldest friends and my next door neighbor decided to tweet the girl who said these tweets and tweeted, “Hayley Gorman is actually pretty cool. js.” Tears pretty much formed in my eyes. That tweet got 4 retweets and 12 favorites. It’s nice knowing people like you. What I expected was for my opponent to own up to it and acknowledge that her tweets were disrespectful, but unfortunately she didn’t. She tweeted, “Go cry about it” about a thousand times. Trying to play it off that people shouldn’t react to her tweets like that. My brother tweeted her that there was no reason she had to tweet that. I hope she learned a lesson.

But what about the other people who get mean stuff tweeted about themselves? The people who weren’t lucky enough to have someone stick up for them. What about people who do tweet mean stuff? Do they ever learn? How do you tell someone that their being inconsiderate and rude?

I hope someday people learn their lesson and others don’t have to feel what I felt when I saw those tweets. Words can hurt. So as PSA please remember to think before you tweet.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

