Thoughts on Child Labor

In my AP Spanish class, we are working on a unit about the different education systems in Spanish speaking countries. It’s very shocking and sad. Children aren’t getting the education they need. We need to change that.

In my class, we recently watched a video called “Zara’s Letter”. The documentary reveals the life of girl named Zara who lives in Turkey. It documents the child labor in Turkey.

It makes me so angry that children have to work rather then get an education. Zara worked with harvesting hazelnuts, which was extraneous labor. The video then panned to kids in America indulging in Nutella, which shows how unaware we are of this problem.

I decided to research more about the child labor dealing with Nutella. I learned that Nutella, Nestle, and Hershey’s manufacturer announced their new anti-slavery moves. At least, there is progress. However, we need to end child labor. We need to educate the world on this problem.  The ten countries with the worst child labor problems are:

  1. Myanmar
  2. North Korea
  3. Somalia
  4. Sudan
  5. Democratic Republic of Congo
  6. Zimbabwe
  7. Afghanistan
  8. Burundi
  9. Pakistan
  10. Ethiopia

I just wanted to cry after learning about child labor. I don’t know what the best solution is to end child labor, but I do know we need to find a solution. Hopefully, by the time I die, I can see the end of child labor.

Leave a Reply

