Live your Life

“I figure life’s a gift and I don’t intend on wasting it. You don’t know what hand you’re gonna get dealt next. You learn to take life as it comes at you… to make each day count.”

This quote from Titanic, is one of my favorite quotes. If you take a moment to look at it you can learn about life. The way people live their lives. How we value our time. Life is such a special gift, yet people seem to throw it away. People spend so much time worrying about the little things, instead of living their lives.

How many times a day do you hear someone complain? I spend five days a week at high school, trust me, I hear people complain all the time, from school work to friendship problems to relationship problems. In my mind, I have to think of everything as a small thing. When I was my AP Calculus class, a girl raised her hand and said, “When I’m working at hospital, no one is going to run up to me and ask me what the derivative of…” Anytime one of my friends is stressing over a test I try to put it in perspective that when they are 30 no one is going to ask them what they got on their chapter 7 Calculus test.

I think those two examples show that we stress over things that aren’t going to matter in the long run. Don’t sweat over the little things. You have to look at the overall picture. If you are pulling out your hair out about a certain class just remember that in the spring you will be done with that class and you won’t have to worry about that.

For me I have to look at little things to get me through a stressful week. This week I can think about that on Monday night I know I can watch Switched at Birth and The Fosters, on Tuesday I can watch Pretty Little Liars, on Wednesday it is early release and I can watch Modern Family, and that this week is the Super Bowl. You just have to find the good things in life. We are so fortunate to be alive so why don’t we live our lives to the fullest.

In the long run, does it matter how many followers you have on Instagram or Twitter? Or how many likes you go on your photo? I think the saddest thing is that people measure their self esteem by how many likes they get on a photo, how many people follow them, how many friends they have on Facebook. In the end, it doesn’t matter. Just ask yourself, when I’m 30 am I going to care about how many followers I had when I was 17. Hopefully, the answer is no.

My advice, go live your life. Take it day by day. When you wake up, you get to restart and make it the best day possible. You have the power to change anything you want about your life. If you want to be kinder, smarter, more outgoing, less talkative, etc., then you can do it. Don’t sell yourself short. Everyone has so much more to give. Just embrace who you are and show it off. People want to get to know you, just let them. Live your life. You never know when life will throw you a curveball, but it is up to you to keep your head up. The key to being alive is happiness.

Leave a Reply

